Inside & Out Book Tag

Inside Out

Once again I have been jumping about the internet though this is an almost daily occurrence these days. Anyway, during one of my most recent jumping about sessions, I came across the inside and out on Vicky’s Blog: Books, Biscuits and Tea. As I haven’t been blogging long enough to be tagged and I am far too impatient to wait, I decided to do it anyway.

i
Inside flap / Back of the book summaries: Too much info? Or not enough (Discuss)

I tend to thing that the summary is usually enough info for me, but I do sometimes read the first couple of pages to see if the book is for me.

If the summary is only 1-2 lines or a tiny snippet from the book, I tend to not even bother looking inside the book. If they can’t be bothered to even try and hook me in using the summary then I am not even going to try and read their book. I am sorry if that makes me a horrible person, but one writer to another, you should be taking all the chances you can to get your perspective readers to pick your book up.

n
New book: What form do you want it in? Be honest: audio book, e-book, paperback, or hardcover?

I prefer paperbacks but if its a new release I am dying to read, I will get it in the hardcover because I am too impatient.

s
Scribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean? (Tell us why)

Not anymore. I did at university because I needed to make notes for my lectures and seminars. I prefer clean books anyway, I would have never written in my books unless it wasn’t necessary.

iIn your best voice, read for us your favourite first sentence from a book.

I don’t actually have a favourite first sentence. However, I will give leave you with this sentence and if you can find where it is from then you will have my eternal love or friendship – your choice.

She sneered as she tapped the ash onto the floor and stalked off like a long legged deer that had been drinking with her boss.

d Does it matter to you whether the author is male or female when you’re deciding on a book? What if you’re unsure of the author’s gender?

Man, Woman, Horse. I don’t care who wrote the book as long as its good. Sorry, but it’s true.

e
Ever read ahead? Or have you ever read the last page way before you got there?

I tend to read the last chapter before I even finish a book. I want to know what happens before it happens!

&

o
Organized bookshelves, or outrageous bookshelves?

Outrageous bookshelves, it’s more fun that way because who knows what you’ll discover!

u
Under oath: have you ever bought a book based on the cover (alone)?

Yes. Quite a number of books, usually YA books. Actually on book covers, all my Harry Potter books bar Deathly Hallows are the UK children’s covers. I didn’t like the children’s cover for Deathly Hallows so I bought the adult cover inside.

t
Take it outside to read, or stay in?

Stay in. It’s warm inside.

If you chose to take part in this tag, don’t forget to leave me a link or tweet me so I can hop over and read it.

2 thoughts on “Inside & Out Book Tag

Leave a Reply

